Missouri Sports Hall of Fame honors 38 Lindenwood students, coaches, teams


Photo by Carly Fristoe

Lindenwood gymnast Kierstin Sokolowski was one of the 38 Lindenwood students to receive an award. Photo by Carly Fristoe

J.T. BUCHHEIT | Chief Copy Editor

The Missouri Sports Hall of Fame honored 110 college students, coaches and teams with Special Achievement Awards this year. These awards are given to “national champions, First Team All-Americans and others who received national recognition while competing for a Missouri-based team in 2017,” according to the Missouri Sports Hall of Fame website. The 2018 enshrinement was on Sunday, Jan. 28, in Springfield, Missouri. Each inductee was honored with a Hall of Fame-logoed plaque celebrating his or her achievements.

The following 38 Lindenwood athletes, coaches and teams received Special Achievement Awards:


Erin Abbott (Women’s Lacrosse First Team All-American)

Darrel Barnes (USA Weightlifting National Champion)

Darren Barnes (USA Weightlifting National Champion)

Muhammed Begaliev (USA Weightlifting National Champion)

Rachel Benzing (Women’s Lacrosse First Team All-American)

Kallie Bildner (NCAA D-II Basketball Freshman All-American)

Sophie Buelow (Women’s Lacrosse First Team All-American)

Lori Eaton (Synchronized Swimming National Coach of the Year)

Nick Feakes (Rugby First Team All-American)

Hannah Finchamp (USA Cycling Collegiate Mountain Bike National Champion)

Victoria Francis (Wrestling National Champion)

Serghei Golban (NCAA D-II Swimming 50 Freestyle National Champion)

Matt Griffiths (Five Stand Open Shooting National Champion)

Alyson Haylor (Synchronized Swimming Athlete of the Year)

Evan Hartig (USA Cycling National Champion)

McKenzie Hawkins (USA Rugby First Team All-American)

Shawn Kemeter (Sporting Clays National Champion)

Chelsey McMichael (USA Weightlifting National Champion)

Jonathan Mead-Vancort (USA Cycling National Champion)

Brianna Miller (ACUI Collegiate 9-Ball Billiards National Champion)

Matthew Montgomery (USA Weightlifting National Champion)

Nic Moschetti (Men’s Skeet National Champion)

Tiffany Person (USA Rugby First Team All-American)

Chris Robinson (ACUI Collegiate 9-Ball Billiards National Champion)

Austin Rodriguez (USA Weightlifting National Champion)

Cristian Rodriguez (Rugby First Team All-American)

Kierstin Sokolowski (NCAA D-II Gymnastics Vault National Champion)

Tony Storic (Collegiate Water Polo First Team All-American)

Jason Varozza (International Trap Open Shooting National Champion)

Chase Walter (NRA All-American)

Chance Wenglewski (Rugby First Team All-American)

Lindenwood University Cheerleading Team (NCA/NDA National Champion)

Lindenwood University Dance Team (UDA National Champion)

Lindenwood University Olympic Weightlifting Team (Collegiate Weightlifting National Champion)

Lindenwood University Roller Hockey Team (RHA D3 National Champions)

Lindenwood University Rugby Teams (Rugby College 7s National Champion)

Lindenwood University Shotgun Sports (SCTP Collegiate National Champions)

Lindenwood University Synchronized Swimming (U.S. National Champions)


For more information, visit http://mosportshalloffame.com/roughly-100-special-achievement-award-winners-to-be-recognized-at-enshrinement/7824/