Women’s golf team scores All-Scholar Award



Members of the women’s golf team earned the All-Scholar Team GPA award.
Photo taken from lindenwood.edu

La’Markus Bragg | Reporter
July 29, 2016; 3:30 p.m.

Lindenwood’s women’s golf team has earned the 2015-2016 All-Scholar Award from the Women’s Golf Coaches Association.

This award means that Lindenwood’s team earned the highest GPA out of more than 600 teams at all categories in women’s golf. Lindenwood had a GPA of 3.901, superseding second place Illinois State’s average GPA of 3.862.

The 2015-2016 women’s golf team member were: seniors Sydney HawleyAlanna Haynes and Madelyn Piccininni; junior Noelle Johnston; sophomores Maggie BryantYolanda RotzingerReagan Snavely and Alexandra Wheeler; and freshmen Natalie Long and Dakota Limkemann.

This season the Lions progressed to the NCAA Regional Championship for the third consecutive year and placed third at the MIAA Championship. Lindenwood also made top-five finishes in eight out of the 12 tournaments during the season. The all-MIAA selections were earned by Limkemann, Piccininni and Rotzinger.

Head coach, Abigail Weber has led the team to three conference championships in her eight years at Lindenwood.

“I am extremely honored for our program to receive this award,” Weber said. “In my opinion, this type of championship is far greater than a national championship because it shows that these girls work hard and are the true representation of a student-athlete.

“Successful in the classroom; successful on the golf course. I am very proud of all 10 of my players. They worked hard and earned an award that they can be proud of for the rest of their lives.”