Legacy/Lindenlink staff recognized at Mark of Excellence awards


Lindenlink / Legacy has been named as finalists for two national SPJ awards.
Photo by Lindsey Fiala

LINDSEY FIALA | Online Editor

Seven Legacy and Lindenlink members won regional awards at the annual Society of Professional Journalists conference, an award ceremony which covered Region 7 of the SPJ organization. Five of the 10 nominations won, while the other five were finalists.

The following Legacy Magazine and Lindenlink members won first-place awards:

Lindsey Fiala won for Best Use of Multimedia
J.T. Buchheit won for Online Opinion and Sports Writing Small School
Carly Fristoe won for Sports Photo Small School
Ashley Higginbotham won for Breaking News Photo Small School

The following members were awarded as finalists in their categories:

Kyle Rainey was a finalist for General News Reporting
Phil Scherer was a finalist for Sports Writing
Walker Van Wey was a finalist for both Online Sports Reporting and Sports Photography
The Legacy Magazine was a finalist for Best Student Magazine. 

Editor-in-chief Mitchell Kraus is thrilled with the results of the conference. 

“I am proud of all of the hard work we have put in and all of the success we have had,” he said. “I am looking forward to growing the publication even further.”

The first place winners will advance to the national competition. Those winners will be showcased on the organization’s website

The awards were presented at the Region 7 conference at Iowa State University on April 13 and 14.